Posted by: Jonathan Stepp | December 4, 2007

Everything Will be Okay

A sign bearing this inscription is making the rounds on the internet, I’ve stumbled on it several times in the last few weeks: everything will be okay in the end. if it’s not okay, it’s not the end.

Sayings like that used to drive me crazy, now I love them.

Why they used to drive me crazy: Basically, I didn’t think everything would be okay in the end. It might be okay for those who had accepted Christ, but most of the world was headed for some very un-okay endings.

Why I love them now: Sayings like this are proof that all humanity is in connection with Jesus, the Incarnate Son (Col 1:16-17; Acts 14:17, 17:28.) If humanity was really separated from the life of God we would never have hope because hope comes from the Holy Spirit, given to us through Jesus’ incarnate life.

I don’t know who wrote this phrase, or what he/she believes about God, but I know that it is true: everything will be okay. It’s true because of Jesus, even if the person who wrote it doesn’t know that’s why it’s true.

Leave a Reply

Categories

